St Johns School

Investing in Children, Investing in the Future!

The Early Years Curriculum has been developed into seven areas of learning. All aspects of the curriculum relate to each other; however they are divided into prime and specific areas.

Prime Areas:

We have three prime areas of development which lay the foundations for children’s success in all areas of life. These are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional development
  • Communication and Language

  • Physical Development

Specific Areas:

The specific areas provide opportunities to develop the children’s understanding and skills in key areas:

  • Literacy

  • Mathematics

  • Understanding the World

  • Expressive Arts and Design

At St Johns School we provide a variety of approaches, combining direct class-teaching situations with practical and active opportunities for the children to apply the skills they have been taught. For this reason, we provide many and varied experiences for children to learn through discovery and experimentation after the basic learning tools have been formally demonstrated to them.

The children are encouraged to ask questions; solve problems; use all their senses; express their individuality through a range of creative media such as role-play and drama; music; painting and collage; construction; spoken and written language; dance; and they are guided towards taking responsibility for their own actions by being expected to think about right and wrong behaviour.

By maintaining a balance between formal and informal learning environments, we believe we are giving children the best opportunities for achieving their full potential.

You are viewing an item in the section:


Select items from the menu to find out more about learning at St Johns School.

View this